This is BX @ Boxden.com

1 year in the work force and here's what I learned so far...

1 year in the work force and here's what I learned so far...
topic by pnoi89 - 03-15-2013, 05:41 PM - Boxden > The Money Spot (finance/careers)

A quick background on myself. I graduated May 2012 with a B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering. No internship experience during undergrad, by the way. Let's just say I shotgunned my resume everywhere and fortunately, got my foot in the door with a nice consulting firm in the energy industry (oil/gas/power). And now, after about one year's experience, I'm transitioning into another consulting firm, this time that works purely midstream oil, gas, and water pipelines.

Anyways, here are some things I learned through my journey so far (This definitely applies to anyone in technical design/engineering. Not sure with other fields though.):

In terms of resumes,

1. Despite what people say about putting your work experience on the top of your resume over your education, still keep your educational accolades at the top of your resume (Degree, Certifications, etc.).

2. Don't stress with going over 2 pages on your resume. If it's needed to expand on your skills, then 2 pages is fine. Especially since most of the time, you'll end up sending over your resume to someone electronically rather than giving them a paper copy.

3. Your resume should be filled with descriptions upon descriptions regarding your skills and experiences. EVERYTHING you can think of (of course, try not to be redundant). It may seem that your resume will look wordy, but that doesn't really matter, from what I learned.

In terms of my job search philosophies,

1. Carry business cards with your contact info over paper resumes. It's a MUCH better networking tool. Trust me, nowadays, if they want your resume, they'll ask you to send it via email.